On This Day in IUPUI History: February 11, 1983

February 11, 1983. 

On this day, Dr. Donald J. Neiderpruem, professor of microbiology and immunology in the Indiana University School of Medicine, was the first recipient of the Edward C. Moore Award for outstanding teaching at IUPUI. The award was named for the then recently retired dean of the faculties and executive dean Dr. Edward C. Moore, who oversaw the development of IUPUI's academic programs from 1977 to 1982. IUPUI chancellor Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., announced and presented the award to Neiderpruem at the annual IUPUI Learning Resources Symposium. 

A noted scholar, Prof. Neiderpruem received added recognition for his efforts to get and keep the attention of the medical, dental, and nursing students who took his required microbiology course. He resorted to what he candidly called "teaching gimmicks" to capture their minds, including pop music, historical impersonations, and more. "If I don't get their attention at the first, I've lost them for the remaining 45 minutes of my class," he said. His office door featured a bumper sticker that read: "Mycologists Have More Fungi."

IUPUI continued to award the Edward C. Moore honor for outstanding teaching for several years. Later, it replaced it with other teaching awards. Today IUPUI holds an annual Edward C. Moore Symposium on Excellence in Teaching.

Prof. Niederpruem and his Microbiology class, Spring 1973 UA24-000498

To learn more about Moore, Niederpruem, and the history of teaching excellence at IUPUI, please contact IUPUI Special Collections and Archives at speccoll@iupui.edu.

Updated Feb 11, 2019 by setowne