On This Day in IUPUI History: April 9, 2013

April 9, 2013. 

On this day, university leaders and visiting dignitaries gathered in the IUPUI Campus Center to inaugurate and rename formally the new Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. On hand were IU president Michael A. McRobbie, IUPUI chancellor Charles R. Bantz, and Irene Lilly McCutchen, who spoke at the ceremony on behalf of members of the Lilly family.

The IU Center on Philanthropy began at IUPUI in 1987 as a pioneering effort to create a new field of academic study of the patterns and habits of philanthropy in the United States and around the world. The Center first offered graduate degrees in philanthropic studies, first the M.A. and later the Ph.D. More recently, the school created an undergraduate program in philanthropic studies, In 2012 the IU Board of Trustees approved the transformation of the Center into the School of Philanthropy. Eugene Tempel, long a leader on the IUPUI campus and of the IU Foundation, was appointed the founding dean of the school.

The Lilly Family School of Philanthropy is the international leader in research on worldwide philanthropy, training fund-raising and non-profit professionals who work around the globe.

L to R: Eugene Tempel, Michael McRobbie, and Emmett Carson at dinner, 2013

To research the history of Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, please consult copious records in the IUPUI Special Collections and Archives. Contact us at speccoll@iupui.edu.


Updated Apr 09, 2019 by Editor Name Missing