On This Day in IUPUI History: April 18, 1984

April 18, 1984. 

On this day, Indiana University Founders Day, which commemorates the creation of the university in 1820, four IUPUI faculty members received special honors for their achievements. Professor Dorothy L. Webb of the Department of Communication Studies in the School of Liberal Arts and director of the University Theatre received the President's Award. Professor Varoujan A. Chalian of the School of Dentistry and the School of Medicine, and Prof. Robert T. Lenz of the School of Business received Amoco Foundation Awards. And Professor William M. Armstrong of the School of Medicine received the rank of distinguished professor.

Indiana University has been officially present in Indianapolis since 1891, when a professor traveled from the rural confines of Bloomington to the metropolis to present a course of weekly lectures. But proprietary schools that began before that date later merged with Indiana University and became integral parts of IUPUI.  Our School of Dentistry, School of Law, School of Medicine, and School of Physical Education (now part of the School of Health and Human Sciences) have nineteenth-century roots. 

Thus, on this Founders Day, one year before the IU Bicentennial, we remember that public higher education has a long history in Indianapolis, and that IUPUI has made significant contributions to the success of Indiana University.

Dorothy Webb (right) in community theater class, 1986 1186-2684-002

To learn more about IUPUI history, consult records in the IUPUI Special Collections and Archives. Staff are happy to help your research. Contact them at speccoll@iupui.edu.

Updated Apr 18, 2019 by Editor Name Missing